Federer and Zverev both won to let Europe retain the title of Laver Cup

After Roger Federer was able to secure the must have win for the team Europe, Alexander Zverev also played splendidly to win the game against Team World’s Milos Raonic for the tiebreaker match to ensure that the Laver Cup is once more retained by Europe on Sunday.

Zverev was able to defeat Raonic by 6-4, 3-6 and 10-4 in the final divisive singles game to allow the Europeans win the tournament by 13-11 on points.

Following his triumph, Zverev fell on the ground and soon was diapered form sight as he was soon under the pile of his celebrating teammates which included Federer, Nadal, and the captain of team, Bjorn Borg.

Rod Laver, the great name of the tennis, and the man whom after the Cup has been named, presented the trophy to team Europe as the captain of the world team John McEnroe watched.

Zverev said of his win, “I played through an unbelievable tiebreaker match. I am really thankful to Rogers, Rafa and the rest of my team. Without them sitting on the bench, I could not have won today.”

2 hours before Zverev’s match, Federer, to the delight of the 17000 crowd in his hometown defeated john Isner by 6-4 and 7-6 to set the finale.

European team has won the earlier two new editions of the Laver Cup which were played in 2017 at Prague and in 2018 at Chicago.

Nadal was replaced by the world rank no. 5 Dominic Thiem and played against the World Team’s Taylor Fritz who defeated him by 7-5, 6-7 and 10-5. Fritz himself was a late replacement for team World’s Nick Kyrgios.  Fritz said of his big win, “this is one of the biggest wins of my entire tennis career. I am the type of a person who really does not like to let his own team down.”

Related Content

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top