India wins the 3rd T20I against West Indies to clinch the series

Captain of the Indian team Virat Kohli led with his 6 sixes to allow India to win the 3rd T20I series match over the West Indies by 67 runs at the Wankhede Stadium.

Kohli was able to strike a total of 70 runs including his 7 massive hits off of 29 balls while KL Rahul helped with his 91 runs made off of 56 deliveries and Rohit Sharma adding his 77 runs from 34 deliveries to share the 3 wicket partnership to allow for India to score 240-3 in 20 allotted overs.

The massive score platform was set by Rahul and Sharma with their opening first-wicket stand of 135 runs before Kohli and Rahul shared the third wicket partnership after Rishabh Pant was ousted without making any score.

As for the Windies, the T20 World Champions 2 times in the past, they struggled in this final match as they could only score 173- after the early slump of 17-3. Their top run-scorer was their captain Kieron Pollard with his 68 runs off of 39 deliveries where he hit 6 sixes and 5 fours.

West Indies had to make the opening stand without heir power hitter Evin Lewis, who has been unable to bat due to his soft tissue damage sustained on the right knee during fielding.

Shimron Hetmyer, who scored 41 runs off of 24 deliveries along with Pollard’s 74 runs for the 4th wicket partnership gave some hope to Windies. However as soon as the Indian spinner Kuldeep Yadav came to the pitch, he ousted Pollard. Kuldeep Yadav got 2 wickets by giving away only 45 runs.

The other wicket taken by Kuldeep Yadav was of Jason Holder and then Bhuvneshwar Kumar too dismissed 2 players of Windies by giving away 41 runs.

These 2 teams with the conclusion of the T20I series will now have the 3 One-day International matches with each other. The first match of this series will be played on the coming Sunday at Chennai.

Related Content

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top