Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal have been elected to be part of the ATP Player Council

The political situation of the men’s tennis took a dramatic turn on Thursday when top-ranking players like Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal were appointed in the ATP Player Council.

Both Nadal and Federer have been heavily criticizing the direction to which the tour has started to steer into for the last ear with the council president being their on-court rival and world rank no. 1 Novak Djokovic.

After the Chris Kermode, the ATP executive chairman and president and support for Justin Gimelstob, who is the representative of the players on board, was ousted and Justin pleading no contest to his battery charge have been the biggest points in the council.

Gimelstob stood down and his friend Weller Evans took over after him.

As for Jamie Murray, Sergiy Stakhovsky and Robin Haase, they have all resigned from the council after a meeting was held before the Wimbledon began.

As for the trio of Federer, Nadal, and Melzewr, they will now start their roles with immediate effect and are going to serve until Wimbledon of 2020.

As for Djokovic along with his allies are of thoughts that not most of the revenue from the tennis tournaments is given to players and they want to push harder for this change.

As for the next ATP Payer Council meeting, it will be held before US One starts in New York.

Related Content


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top